Moon Days

What are they? 

According to Vedic tradition, moon days are not good days to learn or to teach – the influence of the moon is too strong or too weak to allow for the proper assimilation of knowledge.  Thus in the Ashtanga yoga tradition of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, yoga classes are not offered on the days of the new and full moon.

Moon days follow the Hindu calendar, according to which days are considered sunrise-to-sunrise and, additionally, may be more or less than 24 hours long as they are based not on the clock but on the relative positions of sun, earth and moon (thus the new and full moon days listed here may differ from those in other calendars).

 

2017 Moon Days

Full Moon             New Moon

Jan 11, Wed            Jan 27, Fri*
Feb 10, Fri*            Feb 26, Sun
Mar 12, Sun            Mar 27, Mon
Apr 10, Mon           Apr 26, Wed
May 10, Wed         May 25, Thu
Jun 9, Fri*               Jun 23, Fri*
Jul 8, Sat                 Jul 23, Sun
Aug 7, Mon             Aug 21, Mon
Sep 5, Tue               Sep 19, Tue
Oct 5, Thu               Oct 19, Thu
Nov 3, Fri*             Nov 17, Fri*
Dec 3, Sun              Dec 17, Sun

 

Empty2.jpg

Holidays

2017 Holidays

The school is CLOSED on the following holidays:

May 27–29 – Memorial Day Weekend

Jul 4 – Independence Day

Sep 2–4 – Labor Day Weekend

Nov 23–26 – Thanksgiving

Dec 24 & 25 – Christmas

Dec 31 & Jan 1, 2018 – New Year’s